David Bazan “Kept Secrets” premieres at Stereogum

SEATTLE, WA – Barsuk Records is pleased to announce that “Kept Secrets” from the forthcoming David Bazan record Blanco (out 05.13) has premiered at Stereogum. Listen in at:

http://www.stereogum.com/1873846/david-bazan-kept-secrets-stereogum-prem...

“The legend of "Kept Secrets" is that I wrote it alone on tour in a cabin in the mountains,” Bazan says about the newly released track. “That also happens to be in the delta with synth sounds that I made from tightly looping shards of noise that I had originally created by feeding a thrift store mixer back into itself. Which is something I did in headphones at night in my hotel room for recreation after playing the shows night after night that spawned the problem that this song is ostensibly about, thus achieving ouroboros.”

A North American tour in support of the record begins June 8th at The Bartlett in Spokane, WA. In anticipation of the forthcoming release of Blanco, Bazan has also made his Barsuk Records solo releases – Fewer Moving Parts, Curse Your Branches and Strange Negotiations – alongside singles for “Trouble With Boys” and “Kept Secrets” from Blanco, available on all streaming services for the first time.

David Bazan has never had the answers. His first two solo records, 2009’s Curse Your Branches and 2011’s Strange Negotiations lived inside questions. Questions of politics, of relationships, of addiction, and of God. For anyone looking to art to remove doubt, Bazan is not that refuge. With a catalogue that orbits the darkest corners of the human experience, his songs are the tiny pinprick of light, the first breath coming up for air, the rest stop on a trip with no destination.

Having spent half of the last decade on tour, away from home, Bazan wrote his new songs from the wandering life of a traveling troubadour. And while there is joy in that life, Blanco is born of its challenges. It’s what, and whom, he leaves at home that you hear on Blanco. These are home songs; they signal the end of the singer/songwriter mode, with delay and distortion binding layers of drum machine and synth together. Blanco continues to ask questions, but they are the questions of a man who has found contentment within them. Who has somehow, against odds, made a home in them.

David Bazan on tour:

Wed, June 08: Spokane WA The Bartlett *
Thu, June 09: Bellingham WA The Wild Buffalo *
Fri, June 10: Seattle WA Neptune Theatre
Thu, June 16: Boise ID The Olympic Venue *
Fri, June 17: Salt Lake City UT Kilby Court *
Sat, June 18: Denver CO Lost Lake Lounge *
Mon, June 20: Kansas City MO Record Bar *
Tue, June 21: Omaha NE Reverb Lounge *
Wed, June 22: Davenport IA Daytrotter *
Thu, June 23: Madison WI High Noon Saloon *
Fri, June 24: St. Paul MN Turf Club *
Sat, June 25: Milwaukee WI Colectivo Coffee *
Mon, June 27: Louisville KY Zanzabar *
Tue, June 28: St. Louis MO Old Rock House *
Wed, June 29: Indianapolis IN The HI-FI *
Thu, June 30: Chicago IL Lincoln Hall *
Fri, July 01: Ferndale MI The Loving Touch *
Sat, July 02: Toronto ON The Great Hall *
Sun, July 03: Ottawa ON Pressed *
Tue, July 05: Cambridge MA The Sinclair
Wed, July 06: Hamden CT The Ballroom at The Outer Space
Thu, July 07: Brooklyn NY Music Hall of Williamsburg
Fri, July 08: Philadelphia PA Johnny Brenda's
Sat, July 09: Washington, DC Black Cat
Sun, July 10: Charlottesville VA The Southern
Mon, July 11: Carrboro NC Cat's Cradle Back Room
Wed, July 13: Asheville NC Grey Eagle
Thu, July 14: Atlanta GA The Earl
Thu, August 04: Jacksonville FL Jack Rabbits +
Fri, August 05: Orlando FL The Social +
Sat, August 06: Tampa FL Crowbar +
Mon, August 08: Birmingham AL The Syndicate +
Tue, August 09: Nashville TN Exit/In +
Wed, August 10: Memphis TN Hi-Tone Cafe +
Thu, August 11: Little Rock AR Stickyz Rock'n'Roll Chicken Shack +
Fri, August 12: Tulsa OK The Vanguard +
Sat, August 13: Denton TX Dan's Silverleaf +
Sun, August 14: Houston TX White Oak Music Hall +
Mon, August 15: Austin TX The Parish +
Wed, August 17: El Paso TX Bowie Feathers +
Thu, August 18: Albuquerque NM Low Spirits +
Fri, August 19: Phoenix AZ The Crescent Ballroom +
Sat, August 20: San Diego CA Casbah +
Sun, August 21: Costa Mesa CA The Wayfayer +
Mon, August 22: Los Angeles CA Teragram Ballroom +
Wed, August 24: San Francisco CA The Independent +
Sun, August 28: Vancouver BC The Biltmore Cabaret +

* with Laura Gibson
+ with Michael Nau

Welcome to your new Drupal website!

Please follow these steps to set up and start using your website:

  1. Configure your website Once logged in, visit the administration section, where you can customize and configure all aspects of your website.
  2. Enable additional functionality Next, visit the module list and enable features which suit your specific needs. You can find additional modules in the Drupal modules download section.
  3. Customize your website design To change the "look and feel" of your website, visit the themes section. You may choose from one of the included themes or download additional themes from the Drupal themes download section.
  4. Start posting content Finally, you can create content for your website. This message will disappear once you have promoted a post to the front page.

For more information, please refer to the help section, or the online Drupal handbooks. You may also post at the Drupal forum, or view the wide range of other support options available.